Talented Tuesday on Wordy Wednesday: My talented, prosperous ancestors

Article about the pianist, Tempe Stuart (my great-aunt) and her wealthy father, Alfred Stuart (my great, great-uncle) in the Indianapolis Freeman in 1901.

Not only is this newspaper article about my talented great-aunt Tempe Stuart a point of pride for this woman who would go on to make her living teaching and performing music, but it’s also full of information that I didn’t know about my paternal family’s ancestral home, Ocean Springs, Mississippi. I want to thank my friend, Shannon, for bringing the article to my attention.*

The article states that Tempe Stuart’s dad, Alfred was among the wealthiest colored men in the town, supplying its residents with milk.  (Not bad for a man born a slave at the end of the Civil War).  At also says that this small Gulf Coast town had about 120 “colored” families and over two-thirds of them owned their homes.   That number has to break some kind of record for black homeowners in the south during that time, just a little over 30 years after the end of slavery. Oceanspringsarchives.net contends that the number of black residents was even higher than the article suggests with 331 compared with 925 white residents, citing the federal census as the source. So, in 190o, roughly one-quarter of Ocean Springs residents were blacks and 2/3 of those blacks owned their homes.  According to US Census data from 2000, Ocean Springs now has a population of about 17,000 people and about 1200 of its residents are black.  About 72 percent of all residents own their homes.

I wonder what made Ocean Springs so conducive to property ownership for former slaves and their families?

(*I’ve gotten so used to Shannon forwarding me amazing newspaper articles about my family, that I neglected to thank her in my original post, so the asterisk refers to updated information.)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Talented Tuesday on Wordy Wednesday: My talented, prosperous ancestors

  1. Very interesting article! How lucky you are to have found this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I wonder if it’s possibly connected to the wealth of the slave owners who maybe broke up their property to provide lots for their freed slaves to build homes??

    • In the case of my great uncle, Alfred, you could be on to something. His master/father died around the same time Alfred started up a dairy farm which makes me wonder if master/dad left his slave/son an inheritance. Thanks for reading, Deborah.

  3. Deb

    I love how all of your awesome sleuthing (and the wonderful people who are helping you along the way)
    keeps uncovering more gems of information!

Leave a comment