Treasure Chest Thursday: Ancestor’s Final Resting Place Found

Plaque on side of Cypress Grove mausoleum in New Orleans memorializing my third great-grandfather, William Rasin Stuart, his son, Alexander Stuart and in-law, Mattie Macauley. Photo courtesy of Find A Grave volunteer Sharon.

Front of mausoleum in Cypress Grove Cemetery, New Orleans where several of my ancestors are buried. Photo courtesy of Find A Grave volunteer, Sharon.

Tuesday afternoon, I posted a picture of my third great-grandfather, William Rasin Stuart and his son Alexander and by the evening, I had a picture of their final resting place.

When fellow geneablogger Liz Hall Morgan read my Tuesday post, she couldn’t help but do some digging.  (Did she know that with construction going on in my house and my daughter’s dance show to prepare for, finding time to open her email that day was a challenge let alone searching for third great-grandpa’s burial spot. Thanks Liz for the help!) She turned up the findagrave postings above taken by Sharon, a volunteer in the New Orleans area with over 11,000 grave postings under her belt including my family’s. William (1780-1853) and Alexander Stuart (1812-1853) are at rest in a mausoleum at Cypress Grove Cemetery in New Orleans along with Mattie Macauley (d. 1876), William Rasin’s daughter-in-law and other relatives whom I hope to discover more about.

I’ve always been intrigued by mausoleums, especially those in New Orleans, but in all the years I’ve been traveling there, I’ve never visited one.  In my 20s on a solo trip to visit my grandmother, I  stopped just short of taking a City of the Dead tour through the famous cemeteries.  I was too proud to take a tour because that would make me a tourist,  a dirty word in New York City where I was living at the time and I was too scared to even check out the periphery of the cemeteries on my own. Now that I’ve joined Find A Grave and finally got my first request last week, I’ll have ample opportunity to get used to spending time alone in cemeteries.  Still, I’m more comfortable when I have someone with me.  So when we visit our ancestors in Cypress Grove,  I hope to bring my husband, children and cousins with me not as a tourist but as a family member paying respects.

Thanks Sharon and Liz for helping me reclaim another jewel for the ancestral treasure chest.

To learn more about the intriguing cemeteries of New Orleans, check out this New Orleans Cemeteries website and take their quiz.  Let me know how you do.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Treasure Chest Thursday: Ancestor’s Final Resting Place Found

  1. Congratulations! Thanks for sharing.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Bill 😉

    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “Back to the Homeplace”
    and “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”

  2. Monique Smith Andersen

    Thank you Liz! I was so touched by your efforts that I wanted to pay it forward, and went out on a Find A Grave run today! It turns out that I found a dozen names of loved ones for someone that was only looking for five! A little time and effort means so much! Found out that the loved ones I found are a big part of early history in my neck of the woods, and I’ve got a new friend!

  3. Liz

    Happy to help; trying to learn more about NOLA resources & couldn’t resist a little lookup. Big kudos to Sharon for posting lots of photos on Findagrave.com!

Leave a Reply

