Treasure Chest Thursday: Grandpa Ford’s Dress

My grandfather, Martin Luther Ford and his brother, Adrian Ford around 1910.

A copy of the above picture of my grandfather, Martin Ford and his brother Adrian hangs on the wall in our house.  It’s one of my most prized possessions. It was probably taken around 1910 since  my grandfather, seated, was born in 1905 and doesn’t look like he is much more than 5 years-old in the photo.  I don’t know what I love more about this picture – Grandpa’s belted dress or his long flowing hair!

6 Comments

Filed under Ford, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Treasure Chest Thursday: Grandpa Ford’s Dress

  1. I love it, Dionne. I have a similar photograph of my grandfather, with curls and dress, that I posted on my blog a few months ago. It is one of my treasures also. I’m sure my sons are happy the tradition of boys wearing dresses is no longer one we follow!

  2. They are just too cute! Were his parents longing for a girl, or what? Interesting that they dressed the two boys so differently – and if I’m seeing correctly, aren’t those bows on your grandfather’s shoes?
    Great pic! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Monique Smith Andersen

    A true treasure! I see you and your little one in Adrian.

Leave a Reply

