Wordless Wednesday: A Family Memento

Joel Brink presenting me with Martha McCauley's cup, probably touched by my great, great-grandmother, Tempy Burton.

The silver child’s cup that I’m holding left me speechless as did the sentiment behind it when  Joel Brink gave it to me during our first meeting this past Sunday.  Joel is an art historian who has published several books about his and his wife’s families.  His wife, Joan descends from a family who owned my great, great-grandmother, Tempy Burton.

The cup belonged to Martha “Mattie” McCauley who died at age 18 in 1860.  Her mother owned my great, great-grandmother, Temple Burton. Tempy was later given as a wedding present to Mattie’s sister, Elizabeth when she married my great, great-grandfather, Colonel W.R. Stuart.  Undoubtedly, as their slave, Tempy was in charge of keeping this beautiful cup looking shiny in the McCauley’s Mississippi home.  Joan and Joel gave it to me because it was something probably touched by Tempy. As Joan wrote in  her beautiful note that sent me sobbing more than once, this cup is a reminder of the connection between our families, now renewed.

4 Comments

Filed under ancestry, family, family history, Mississippi, slavery, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Wordless Wednesday: A Family Memento

  1. What a priceless treasure for you to have. This is a wonderful photograph.

  2. Congratulation on receiving this precious gift… I feel your happiness.

  3. Wow! What a beautiful memento–and what a touching story! Thanks for sharing this!

  4. This is a wonderful treasure indeed! What a touching legacy for the generations that will come in the future! I hope your two families retain some connection going forward.
    Bonnie(valentinoswife)

Leave a Reply

