Treasure Chest Thursday: Family and National Treasures

My daughters and me in front of the National Archives, Washington, DC

It’s spring break for us so we decided to take a road trip to Washington, D.C. where I took my little treasures to see a national treasure, the National Archives.  We all were in awe of the Declaration of Independence, strained to see the faded writing on the Bill of Rights and quietly took in the Emancipation Proclamation.  No kids are allowed in the research center so thank goodness my husband sat with the girls while I printed out a few things at the archives’ library. (You can research just about anything there from your ancestor’s Civil War records to census documents). It’s the third time we’ve been to DC as a family but our country’s capital is so rife with history, it would take a week at least to visit all of its treasures.  We managed to fit in a trip to the National Aquarium as well in our two-day tour. I can’t wait for the next road trip. Whether we’re passing the driving time playing the family game where we try to stump each other with questions about our ancestors or exploring all the many facets of our nation’s history while walking around DC, we learn something new each time we visit.

The National Archives research entrance.

5 Comments

Filed under ancestry, family history, geneology, vacation

5 responses to “Treasure Chest Thursday: Family and National Treasures

  1. Nice story, neat photos. THANKS!

    😉

  2. Deb

    We were there, too! Surprised we didn’t see you as we ran into three other Montclair families. Enjoy – I love DC and hope to be able to go there for research on my own one day soon.

  3. Nice pics! I just took the same one (of myself) in front of the “Study the Past” monument when I was there a few weeks ago. Look for it on a future post! 🙂

    Renate

  4. What a great spring break road trip! I love the pictures.

  5. Shame we didn’t bump into you there but did you know I was thinking of you Dionne, as we stood in front of the National Archives?!!

Leave a Reply

