Wordy Wednesday – The Slaves of Judith B. Jones

My great, great-grandmother, Tempy Burton is bequeathed in the July 1857 will of Judith Jones.

When Hill Jones died in Madison County Mississippi in 1846, he left behind several slaves, including my great, great-grandmother Tempy Burton.  Tempy was left to his wife, Judith B. Jones.  When Judith died 11 years later, also in Madison County, she also left behind several slaves.  Here are the names of the slaves listed in her will and who they were bequeathed to:

To Mary M. Whitehead, my negro woman Tiller, my negro man, William, Wiley a boy and Margaret a small girl.

To my daughter, Martha B. McCauley, my negro man Reuben and Tom, and my negro woman, Tempy.

To my daughter, Elizabeth W. Howcott, my negro man Vincent, my negro woman Susan and her two children Offa and Tanny and my negro boy John.

Thanks, Joel & Ghita for passing this will along to me and to the Ocean Springs Archives on the net  where parts of its contents were listed.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Wordy Wednesday – The Slaves of Judith B. Jones

  1. I am certain gaining a strong attraction to Tempy’s story. Thank you so very much for continuing to share it with us! 😉

  2. Pingback: AFoF Alert: Slaves Named in Will of Judith B. JONES, Madison Co., MS 1857 | A Friend of Friends

  3. Dionne,
    Every time I read the words “leave my negro man (woman) to” it sends a chill up my spine. It’s a way of thinking that I will never be able to comprehend. Thank you for sharing Tempy’s story.

  4. carol wheeldin warren

    I would LOVE to find and be in contact w/anyone who
    is researching the ETHERIDGE,EDWARDS,RICHARDSON,REDDICK and BROWN surnames which all somehow connected to my WEEDEN,
    WHILDEN,WILDON,WILDEN,WELDON AA/Native family line
    I keep hoping that someone will acknowledge kinship
    to my line, but after 13yrs of research, things seem mighty bleak.

Leave a Reply

