Tips from the Carnival of African-American Genealogy

Part of the will where Hill Jones bequeathed my great great-grandmother, Temple Burton to his wife, Judith Jones.

I spent this morning reading blog posts submitted to the Carnival of African-American Genealogy.  This blog carnival, designed to bring bloggers together around a specific topic, focused on how to use slave records in genealogical research.  I had to pull myself away from all the informative, insightful and impassioned stories in order to keep a noon appointment. It was heartening to witness such community.  From slave owner descendants who posted slaves’ names in their ancestors’ wills and deeds to slave descendants detailing their finds and encouraging the research family to help one another, bloggers really answered host, Lucky Daniel’s passionate plea which was the genesis of the Carnival and its first theme. Along with being inspired, I was also enlightened. Here are a few tips I picked up from participating in and checking out the Carnival of African-American Genealogy on how to prioritize my search for more information on my slave ancestor, Temple Burton:

  1. Check out the Family Bible – Kathleen at a3genealogy and Mavis at GeorgiaBlackCrackers were just two of many carnival bloggers attesting to how fruitful these personal documents can be.  Researching family bibles in the Hill Jones family is now at the top of my list in my search to find out more about my great, great-grandmother, Temple Burton.  Hill Jones is her earliest owner that I’ve been able to find.  Before reading today’s carnival, I was intent on starting with
  2. Wills and Deeds, which are still important and extremely valuable and are my next stop in finding more about Temple.  A will is where I found her owner, Hill Jones in the first place.
  3. World Names Profiler – Debra at All My Ancestors had a link to this neat site that lets you punch in a surname and see where in the world it’s most prominent.  I hope it doesn’t come down to tracking down slave owners with my great-great grandmother’s last name since that seems like a shot in the dark, but at least I’ll know where in the world to start looking.

Thanks Lucky for hosting the 1st theme of the Carnival of African-American Genealogy and thanks to all who posted and helped me prioritize my search! If you haven’t already, check out the carnival and let me know what you took away from it.

Leave a comment

Filed under African-American history, family history, geneology, slavery, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

