Wordless Wednesday: My Great, Great-Grandmother’s Grave is Found!

Tempe Burton's tombstone at Evergreen Cemetery, Ocean Springs, Mississippi (Photo by Ann Nash)

Appropriate that it is Wordless Wednesday in the genealogy blogosphere because I am speechless over the pictured tombstone. I didn’t know a tombstone for Tempe Burton, my great, great-grandmother even existed until my cousin, Monique Smith Anderson forwarded this picture last night.  It was found and photographed by Ann Nash, a volunteer for Find A Grave, an organization that collects photos of final resting places all over the world by request and for free! Nash said that Tempe is in “a very shaded area and the sun came through just on her headstone.”  Bless you, Ann for forwarding us this picture and connecting us with another piece of our history!

19 Comments

Filed under African-American history, family, family history, geneology, Multiracial families, Uncategorized

19 responses to “Wordless Wednesday: My Great, Great-Grandmother’s Grave is Found!

  1. Isn’t Findagrave.com wonderful? Thanks to so many wonderful volunteers I have been able to see the gravesites of my ancestors websites that I would never have been able to find or even see otherwise! Congratulations!

  2. Dionne,

    That is fantastic! Our great great grandmother is guiding you to uncover and tell her story.

  3. Congratulations! This is a big find and isn’t it amazing what Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness can do?

  4. Alice

    Extraordinary! I’m speechless too.

  5. Oh my goodness! That is amazing – and so quick. You must be so moved, I am happy for you!! xo

  6. Ann Nash

    Dionne,
    I am so glad to have been able connect you to Your Great Great Grandmother, Tempe Burton, by my photo of her. I am also very proud to have been a part in the finding of her. I hope to meet You and Monique someday. Thank you so much for putting the photo here in your Family History and the wonderful words you put with it. Bless you too. Ann

  7. Dionne this is FABULOUS! I’m (almost) speechless, too! I’m so happy for you. This is truly a treasure, isn’t it?

    Renate

    PS… I am proud to say that I’ve photographed many graves for Find-A-Grave. It is a wonderful community and hopefully even more folks will get involved!

  8. Jill Berke

    Amazing! What a find. Happy for you to know your history in this way.

  9. Congratulations on your find, and a gold star for all the volunteers at FindaGrave.com

  10. I am so very happy for you… I have post many of my ancestors at Find-A-Grave but never though to seek pictures. I will be adding more especially those buried at Evergreen in Ocean Springs. Again congratualation and thanks for sharing and giving me hope…

  11. Somehow, I missed seeing this post. I am so happy for you! Isn’t it wonderful how beautiful the stone remains?

Leave a Reply

